Skip to content

Two Families are Twice the Fun

December 20, 2009

So, supposedly I’m a writer. At least, two days ago I graduated from BSU with an English degree and Writing emphasis. So I guess that would mean I love to write. Which I do, totally. In light of that fact, why does my husband post on his blog so much more than me? I know it’s not a competition, but if it was I would definitely be losing. I just wanted to point that sad fact out to everyone.

Anyway, this weekend has been quite eventful! On Friday Michael and I graduated together. The really crazy thing is that I remember going to my Mom’s graduation last May, when Michael and I were first dating, and I was thinking of how Michael and I were both graduating in December. I remember thinking to myself, “I really hope we’re still together in December because it would be awesome to graduate together.” And look at us now! It totally happened. Who would have even thought we’d not only still be together, but be married too!!

Family at Graduation

We had a great time at graduation, and I now feel such a sense of accomplishment, though I don’t think it’s really sunk in. I still expect four weeks to go by and Christmas break will be over, and I’ll be back in class again, back where I’ve been for the past four years. Instead, the future is before me and it is very uncertain. It’s a little bit scary but definitely less so knowing I have my husband by my side. I think I could face anything knowing he will be there. So here’s to all our adventures and an uncertain but very exciting future!

The day after graduation we gathered with the McLean family at Suzanne’s house for a delicious Christmas dinner and presents. Then us girls worked on our Christmas stockings! I’ve never made one before. Michael and I thought it would be nice if I made one to match the one his mom made for him when he was little. I’m not a very crafty person. The last time I sewed something was probably when I was twelve. But working on a stocking for myself actually turned out to be really fun, especially because I had two sisters-in-law and a mother-in-law to work on it with! I would but a picture up but it actually still isn’t done.

Then today we had another wonderful family event, Hattie’s baby blessing! She is such a precious baby and I’m so lucky that by marrying Michael I got so many great nieces and nephews. Michael’s family is the best. I always have so much fun when we get together and everyone has made me feel so included. It’s the best feeling ever to hear the little kids say my name and know that they know who I am and care about me. I’d say having two families is one of the great things about being married. I love both of my families!

Me and Charlotte

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzannne permalink
    December 21, 2009 8:27 am

    We LOVE having you in our family too!! We have waited a LONG time for you to meet Mikey! And we really hope that we aren’t overbearing (don’t know if I spelled that right!!) But we LOVE you!!

  2. Dad McLean permalink
    December 21, 2009 8:35 am

    What a great blog. We love having you as a full-fledged member of the McLean Clan!

  3. December 21, 2009 9:05 am

    We had so much fun at graduation. I think it was really cool you and Mike graduated at the same time. I had a ton of fun on Saturday working on stockings. I still haven’t finished Charlotte’s either. Maybe all three of us need to get together this week to work on stockings so they can be finished!

  4. December 21, 2009 12:42 pm

    oh my goodness! we are graduated! we are so lucky. Now what are we going to do to fill the days. What ever will we do?

Leave a Reply

