Skip to content

Feeling the Reading Itch

December 4, 2009

It’s that time again. The semester is winding down. The end is almost in sight. Though they are pretty big, I can finally count the projects I have left on one hand. And this time it is really over. I don’t have just one month or three months until a semester starts again – I’m graduating! And then of course, hopefully starting graduate school in nine months, but that’s a whole different adventure. We still don’t even know if I got in.

One of the definite signs the semester is nearing a close is my constant itch to be reading a good book. This usually happens as I am nearing a break, and I have always filled my Christmas and summer breaks with book after book, trying to make up for all the lost time spent reading scholarly books that are assigned to me.

Though I do often enjoy reading those assigned books, which is why I am an English major, nothing compares to the pleasure of chosing a book on your own and getting so sucked into the story you can’t bear to put it down. That’s what I was craving. Even though I work at two different libraries, and see hundreds of books every day, that particular book can be very hard to find. Especially because I always feel like I can’t go looking for books for myself while I’m on the job.

So yesterday I showed up to the Garden City Library early and started perusing the shelves. I knew I needed several books because if one wasn’t holding me, I needed something else to turn to. I wasn’t looking for classics or anything important or deep. Just  something fun. I found three books that looked pretty okay, one by one of my favorite authors Orson Scott Card and a couple others that looked interesting.

I thought I was done, but at the last minute my eyes caught a book called The Actor and the Housewife. I noticed the name of the author, Shannon Hale, and recognized it right away. She wrote several of my favorite books as a kid. Really fun fantasy books about girls I could really relate to, like the Goose Girl and the Princess Academy. She was such a fun and imaginative author! She has just started writing books for adults. I remember reading her novel Austenland last year, but I actually wasn’t impressed with it. But I wanted to give this one a try. It sounded pretty funny.

And it did not disappoint. I admit I am only on the fourth or fifth chapter, which might not be far enough to rave about how great it is, but so far it has certainly gotten me to laugh out loud several times, much to Michael’s annoyance. He said, “You just can’t keep it to yourself, can you?” And no, I can’t! Which is why I’m writing a whole blog about it. So yes, very funny book.

It is about a pregnant Mormon housewife who meets the actor she has a huge crush on, and instead of having an affair or anything, they become friends! It is so funny. The main character lead me to question if  Shannon Hale herself isn’t LDS, and she is! Which is crazy because the whole time I was reading all her books for young adults I had no idea. I just think it is so inspiring to see Mormon women who are able to write and sell their books to a mainstream audience, because that is so exactly what I want to do! And in my opinion, Shannon Hale is a much, much better writer than Stephanie Meyer. So she is officially now my new hero and I am going to start reading her blog. Which is here, if you are interested. http://oinks.squeetus.com/ and her website is here http://www.squeetus.com/stage/main.html. And I’m even thinking about writing her a letter for advice!

So that is a story of how I started, once again, reading a book that I couldn’t put down, laughed out loud, and discovered a new role model I want to be just like when I grow up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JoAnn McLean permalink
    December 4, 2009 1:39 pm

    I love getting sucked into a book. The problem is the world interferes. There is always something to DO.

  2. Lonita permalink
    December 5, 2009 6:29 am

    I love it when you find a book you can’t put down. I do the same thing – I get half a dozen books when I go to the library, since there’s a good chance I won’t be interested in reading past the first few pages of some of them. I usually read a bunch of books when I’m on vacation – but a certain 14-month-old might interfere with those plans this time around!

Leave a Reply

