Skip to content

Being a Wife

November 23, 2009

I have been married to my husband Michael for a whole month as of today! It has been a month of wonderful fun and so much learning and growing. Michael and I have to keep reminding each other that we’ve never been married before, so we are both very new at it! It is great to be able to learn and grow together.

One of the things I’ve learned about myself is that I really do enjoy being a wife, and I feel like I am becoming more and more domesticated! Meaning I find every day that when it comes down to doing my homework or cooking dinner, I choose cooking every time. My homework is really starting to suffer from serious neglect because I’ve been spending all my time doing so much more fun and exciting wifely things. Not that I am a domestic goddess by any means, I still have a long, long way to go, but I am excited to keep growing in this area. Right now I have been trying all kinds of new recipes and I find so much  pleasure in having dinner ready for my love when he comes home from work!

Another thing I’ve discovered is that I’m a much more needy person than I ever thought I would be. I’m sure it is part of being newlyweds still in our honeymoon phase, but I almost can’t bear to be apart from Michael! Whenever he is gone and I am home alone, I feel so restless and uneasy and it is almost impossible for me to focus on anything, because I just want to be with him! I used to really enjoy time I had to myself and I had so many things I would do, but now I only count down the minutes until he comes home!

But after one month of marriage, I would have to say that I definitely love it! And I’m the luckiest person in the world that Michael is the one I am married to. I have never met a more loving and sensitive and fun and creative person in all my life. Every day I realize more and more how perfect Michael is for me, and I am so amazed that he wants to be with me too. It’s so amazing and wonderful to me that one month ago we promised to love each other and be with each other for an eternity, and that eternity together is only just beginning.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 10:27 pm

    i love you so much Allison. you are the best wife i could ever have. you are amazing and awesome. i love you.

  2. Cassie permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:25 am

    yay! im so happy for you! i would like to have the relationship with, and marry someone as you have with Michael 😀

  3. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    November 25, 2009 8:40 am

    You never really get used to being by yourself again. I count down everyday till Jay gets home. Or if he’s gone I count down till he gets home. I love being married, especially since I get to hang out with my best friend all the time.

  4. November 25, 2009 8:41 am

    Hi Allison, I don’t know how I did it but I left the comment above this one as you. Sorry.

  5. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    November 26, 2009 10:45 am

    Sally, I was probably signed into my blog on your computer the other day and somehow it stayed signed in! That was pretty funny! Sorry about that! 😀

Leave a Reply

