Skip to content

Beauty Prep for The Big Day

October 16, 2009

This morning I was wide awake at six, and Fridays are one of my only days to sleep in. Stress was once again causing me to lose sleep. The solution: get up and try on my wedding dress. The whole ensemble: dress, necklace, pantyhose, shoes, veil, everything. After putting it all on and looking at myself in the mirror for several minutes, I felt so much better! I couldn’t believe that lady looking at me was actually me! And one week from now it will be my wedding day and I will wear all that, only better. When I took everything off I felt tired again and much more peaceful, so I was able to sleep for another two hours. I have a feeling this might become a daily thing for the next week!

Today I also bought my make-up for the big day and practiced putting it on. I’m not a big make-up wearer, so some of it was new to me, but without overdoing it, I hope. It was the first time I’ve bought lipstick for myself. In the past I’ve only worn lip gloss. But I know lipstick will be better for the wedding and all the pictures. But my first time using it today I forgot to twist it down before I put the cap back on and now the whole stick is smashed into the cap! And it was such a pretty color too! Now I have to go out and by another one.

I’m trying to drink lots of water so my skin will be nice and clear, and moisturize my hands like crazy so they will be nice and uncracked, because my hands are always dry. There is a lot of work to getting pretty for a wedding day! Today we are going to meet with our fantastic photographer, Brooke, and talk about our wedding shots. I am so totally excited that it is only one week!

And yesterday was my birthday! It was a wonderful birthday. Michael made the day really special, and it feels pretty cool to be 21. Some people think I’m a little crazy, getting married my birthday month. Presents should be spread through the whole year, right? But I don’t think so, I love October! It seriously is my favorite month. So why wouldn’t I get married in my favorite month? It just makes sense. And the past few days have been reminding me of why I love October so much. The weather has been absolutely perfect. The sun is shining, I can go out with just a light jacket on, and the fall colors are at their most brilliant! I can only hope the weather is this nice next weekend. It is projected to be a high of 62 and a 0% chance of rain, so we’ll just keep our fingers crossed!

There were also tender feelings yesterday, as my birthday was also a day of remembering Calvin, Michael’s nephew. I never got to meet Calvin, which makes me so sad, but I can tell he was such an amazing kid and I can’t wait until I get to meet him someday in Heaven. I am sure he is watching us as we get ready to be married in the temple, and I hope he approves of me as a new addition to the McLean family.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. donna permalink
    October 17, 2009 8:18 pm

    I wish I would have known about the dry hands problem, I would have sent my Mary Kay stuff up with my parents for you. It’s awesome! I laughed when I read you tried everything on and then calmed down enough to go back to sleep! Have a great last week of singleness.

  2. Suzanne permalink
    October 18, 2009 2:02 pm

    Calvin would have loved you!! You are a wonderful addition to the McLean family!!!!

Leave a Reply

