Skip to content

Phone Numbers and a New Kind of Crazy

September 25, 2009

Just as an example of how totally out of it my mind has been, last night I was calling the executive secretary to schedule our appointments for our temple recommend interviews  and when I got an answering machine I left a really long and detailed message and it wasn’t until after I hung up that I realized I had dialed the wrong number. I my brain wasn’t even taking in what the answering machine message said and I never realized I was leaving a message about temple recommend interviews on some random person’s phone. That was pretty mortifying. Then today I went and pretty much did the same thing all over again, and when I texted people my new number, I sent the wrong number to everyone!

Applying to graduate school is what is really frazzling my brain. I don’t think I’ve ever been so intimidated! Everywhere on the school websites I see the words “highly competitive” and it totally freezes me up. I don’t feel competative at all! I have been pretty lucky though. Lucky enough to have three really great professors who I am sure will be able to write good recommendations and a pretty good looking transcript. It’s really the personal goal statement that scares me the most. What could I possibly say about myself that would convince someone I should go to their graduate school, and not only that but that they should give me an assistantship and pay me to come to their school!? Usually I love writing and I do well at it, but this is one thing I just cannot get written. And so to avoid it I’m just going to keep fiddling with my new phone. And sending messages to all the wrong phone numbers.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanne permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:28 pm

    Allison,
    You are GREAT! And I know you will do wonderful at graduate school!! This is a VERY stressful time in your life and LOTS of changes!! You are graduating from school and getting married! Thank heavens you are getting such a great guy:) But really, you will do great!!

  2. September 26, 2009 8:02 am

    You’ll do great. Sometimes I find that when I’m not thinking about the topic in mind then all of the sudden something pops into my mind and I’ve got something to write. Or maybe take paper with you everywhere and just keeps notes on awesome things about yourself.

  3. September 26, 2009 8:50 am

    You’re a smart girl and you deserve everything you’re working towards. It’s just hard to sell yourself, but you have to do it! And getting married this semester doesn’t help but you can do it!

Leave a Reply

