Skip to content

Going to the Movies Two Nights in a Row

August 9, 2009

Have I ever mentioned I have the best boyfriend (no, fiance) in the world?

Because I do.

This weekend he took me to see a movie Friday night that he knew I really wanted to see. (500) Days of Summer. It was so good. We saw it at the Flicks too, which always makes me feel more cultured than I really am. More cool too. But the movie was great and sad and said so many things about life and love. Zooey Deschanel made me totally jealous with her cute hair and great bangs. I think I may just start copying her and wear ribbons in my hair tied in little bows. Joseph Gordon-Levitt was also adorable as her boyfriend and everything I love about messenger-bag-wearing guys who love music (aka Michael).

We had so much fun we decided to do it all again the next night. We went to the Flicks again, and this time to see Away We Go with John Krasinski (aka Jim Halpert!). This movie was almost even better than (500) Days of Summer. It was a very different message anyway, and a lot happier. I loved everything it had to say about families and love and what keeps you together.

Both of these movies, along with the book I am reading (recommended by Michael) called Love is a Mixtape, have given me a lot to think about this weekend. I don’t know if it’s all that, combined with the fact that I’ve finished moving all my stuff into what will soon be our own apartment, or if it is just that time of the month, but this weekend I have found that I love Michael more than I have ever loved him before. Which I never even thought was possible. I thought I wanted to marry him when he proposed to me a month ago, and I did, of course, because I said yes. But that is nothing compared to the way I feel about him now.

My love has grown so strong it almost feels violent and terrifying. I’ve started to even develop a fear that he doesn’t love me as much as I love him (which is of course ridiculous. I hope). But I think the thing I am trying to say is that as of this weekend, I know. I know he is the one. The one I want to be with for the rest of my life and for eternity and there is not a question in my mind. I am to the point now that I am so in love with him that I’m never going to wonder again if there could be somewhere better out there somewhere. Because there isn’t. I’m convinced of that. And maybe I should have known this all sooner, like when he proposed and I said yes. I thought I did then, and I did to a certain degree. I knew I wanted to be with him, I was pretty sure he was the one. And I was content with that. But this weekend, my absolute assurance, my positivity, my devotion with not a single doubt left came to me. It came forcefully and surprisingly, seemingly out of nowhere. But it’s here now and I will never, ever look back. So thank you Zooey Deschanel and John Krasinski and Rob Sheffield. Thank you for helping be to discover what I already knew.

Michael, you make me the happiest I have ever been. I am so in love with you and I know you are The One.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

