Skip to content

Your Future is as Bright as Your Faith! -President Monson

April 10, 2009

Yesterday was a really, really great day. It all started on Wednesday. Or actually, about a month ago when one of my friends and mentors at the Albertsons Library, Sara Seely, sent me an email about a job opening at the Garden City Public Library.

Now, as many of you know, I had recently become unemployed when I lost my job at the Albertsons Library. Looking for a job was especially discouraging as grim unemployment statistics covered the newspapers. Summer was drawing near and it seemed a vast void I had no idea how I would fill. So you can imagine how excited I was to hear there was a job opening that not only was I qualified for, it was something I would absolutely love to to, as well as prepare me to get into grad school and begin my career as a librarian. I really, really wanted the job. Probably more than I’d ever wanted anything before.

I worked so hard for it. I spent hours looking up interview tips and job application advice. I wrote down all my answers to typical interview questions and reviewed them over and over again. I took my pants to the dry cleaners. I cleaned off my librarian glasses. And I went to the interview.

It went well. Not phenomenal however. I could tell the job was going to be a little bit of a challenge for me, outside my comfort area, and I think they could sense that too. But still I was ready to take it on if they gave me the chance. Unfortunately they didn’t. After almost a week of waiting I got the bad news. They had offered the position to someone else.

At this point I was pretty discouraged. I had no clue what to do next. I went online and filled out desperate job applications at Albertsons and Hollywood Video and Maverik. I started thinking about how I would keep myself busy all summer if I never found a job (growing a garden, learning to sew).  Just when I started looking at the situation positively and thinking about all the great things I could do with my summer, I got the phone call.

A new position had opened up at the Garden City Library. They wanted me to come in for an interview the very next day (yesterday). The job actually paid just as well, was the perfect hours, and was much more within my comfort level. The interview went beautifully. Two hours after leaving the interview they called me back and I had the job.

I start May 2 at the Garden City Public Library as a Circulation Assistant. I am so excited to begin what is almost my dream job, and so thankful for this opportunity to do something I love. I can already tell it is going to be a wonderful summer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    April 10, 2009 9:09 pm

    That is so AWESOME!! You are going to do great, I just know it!

  2. Cassie permalink
    April 11, 2009 8:51 am

    Congratulations! How wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

