Skip to content

Be Nice to Me. . .

April 8, 2009

I gave blood today!

I decided to conquer my fear of donating blood. The institute had a blood drive today, and I knew I was ready. I used to think I was too afraid of needles, or that I would pass out and have a horrible experience. I am prone to lightheadedness and fainting, so the thought of giving blood had me pretty worried. But this time I was determined to do it anyway.

I am so glad I did! The whole experience was delightful, from the very beginning. The people were friendly and professional, I had the right levels of iron, and I never even felt dizzy or lightheaded at all. There was one slight moment of panic when the blood-drawer, who did not seem very experienced, said, “I hope that’s not an artery.” Yikes! But of course, it wasn’t and all was fine. More than fine really, because my blood flowed so fast I was done in only six minutes!

Now I feel simply fantastic and so empowered by doing something I have always been too afraid to do. It was great to discover there really was nothing to be afraid of at all. I can’t wait to do it again in eight weeks. And just think, I have actually done something to help save a life. What could be better than that?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cassie permalink
    April 9, 2009 10:49 pm

    oh that is great! i am soo afraid of needles. it makes me sick to think about. I gave blood once, i really had to prepare and work myself up to it. The process went well but i am not too excited to give blood again. 😦
    but im so glad that you did and that it was great for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

