Skip to content

Today, My Body Loves Me

April 3, 2009

Since I am still in the spirit of new beginnings, one more thing to add to the list — today I went running.

Besides my yoga routines, this was my first effort at fitness in several years. And I must say it felt amazing. Things have been bringing me to this point for a while now, such as my stake holding a fitness challenge and people around me going running, but ultimately, I went because I wanted to. I learned that self-motivation is the only motivation that works. People around me can go running all the time, they can pester me and beg me to go with them, but nothing is going to happen until I, from within my own self, want to make it happen.

And now I want to make it happen. I feel like my body is yearning for the exertion. It wants to be worked, it is asking me to push it to the very limits. And I believe it is a reciprocal relationship; if I give my body what it is asking for, it is going to pay me back. I look forward to these rewards. I know I will feel better, I will have gained the confidence of knowing I can do something hard and stick with it, and I will be stronger, more fit, and healthier.

Yes, this anticipation may all be premature. Today was only my first run. But as I ran along the Greenbelt today and ‘We Are the Champions’ started playing on my ipod with the beautiful river running next to me, I felt the strength that comes from pushing through when it gets hard, and I knew, this was something I wanted to keep doing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cassie permalink
    April 6, 2009 9:05 am

    yay! i love your blog…i’m so glad you’ve started running! it sure is a great feeling of accomplishment 🙂 good job!
    luv ya

  2. April 6, 2009 5:59 pm

    Thanks for the link. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

