Skip to content

Pride of the Huskies!

October 26, 2008

Yesterday our Emmett Highschool marcing band competed in the District 3 marching band competition for the first time!! I was doubtful at first, having firsthand experience of our underdeveloped band program in Emmett. But I was really excited to see the band’s progress and watch my sis Shannon perform. I went with my mommy to watch the competion in the BSU stadium As I watched their performance, I realized I shouldn’t have doubted. My expectations were completely blown out of the water. Ms. Lyons has done an amazing job and all of those kids have worked so hard! I am especially proud of Shannon, the coolest one in the band! She played in the pit and did a fantastic job on the symbols and the bass drum. I am so lucky to have such an awesome sister! I was so impressed by the whole thing.

PS Even the uniforms themselves were somewhat of a miracle. Ms. Lyons ordered them used from a school in California but they still had to sew on the patches that say Emmett HS instead of some random California school. The patches didn’t arrive until Thursday! So Nikki willingly ironed and sewed on all the patches for the entire band in just one day! And my mom helped as much as she could. What a great story. I am so proud to be an Emmett Huskie!

I also took some video. But I found out that I am really not the best at recording things. And also that my camera did not record any sound. Watching a marching band with out any sound is really a weird experience. It felt like a weird 1920 silent movie but with color. So I decided not to post them here. But if anyone wants to see clips of the silent marching band, just let me know!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cassie permalink
    October 27, 2008 9:30 pm

    thats great! i love that you are so proud of your family! 🙂

Leave a Reply

