Skip to content

Library Mania

September 18, 2008

My very favorite book right now is Chrysanthemum and I am quickly developing an obsession for the author and illustrator, Kevin Henkes. All of his books are so so good! I’m so glad my children’s literature class gives me the excuse to read and explore children’s books all the time. I feel that I am becoming a bit of a children’s book snob though. Learning about what makes a good picture book has opened my eyes to the astonishing number of books out there that are just junk! But when you find one that is wonderful, like all the books by Kevin Henkes, it is like discovering a precious gem! More than anything, I want to share all these wonderful books with children who can also enjoy them and benefit from them. I am really seriously starting to consider a career as a children’s librarian. More than an profession I’ve ever thought about, it feels so right for me. And so so darn fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cassie permalink
    September 18, 2008 8:29 pm

    that’s so great! im excited for you! 🙂

  2. September 21, 2008 9:52 pm

    We love “Chrysanthemum” at our house, too, as well as Henkes’ “Owen”. I’m always on the lookout for good children’s books, so write about your favorites!

    If you ever want to come and browse the kids’ books at our house, I’ll show you the ones that have been consistent winners with all the kids. Some of the favorite titles are Where’s the Fish?, Miss Suzy, Freight Train, Blueberries for Sal, The Little House, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Toot and Puddle, The Rainbow Fish . .. . I could go on and on.

    A children’s librarian–sounds heavenly!

  3. Karen permalink
    September 24, 2008 7:03 am

    We love Henkes’ “Julius, Baby of the World” Taking a childrens lit class, oh so many years ago, introduced me to some wonderful books. I love spending time in the childrens section of the bookstore or library.
    I’ve been reading a book on illustrators, with examples of some of their illustrations. Great book.

Leave a Reply

