Skip to content

Be Cool. Stay in School.

August 25, 2008

Monday, August 25. First day of school.

7:30: Half-asleep, receive a call from Mom with a silly question. A fun way to start the day. Don’t worry Mom, I love you! And both my professors assured me today that there’s no such thing as a stupid question! Even from you! And I needed to wake up anyway.

7:45 Do yoga! I used my cool book, Om Yoga, which has cute little stick figures displaying the poses. My new goal for the school year – try to do yoga every morning. I know I really don’t get enough exercise, and yoga is one of the few forms I enjoy, so I better make myself do it!

8:00 Study Preach My Gospel. Another new goal of mine, in preparation for my mission, far off yet, but you can never be too prepared!

9:15 Visit the Financial Aid office to return some of my student loan money. I’m also trying to limit my spending. It felt good to do that. It’s so tempting to just take the money now because you don’t have to worry about paying it off till later. But I worked so much over the summer I really couldn’t justify doing that this year.

9:40 Institute! Book of Mormon I with Brother Spjute. I carefully crafted my schedule this year to keep my early mornings free. No more working and going to class in the wee hours of the morning! This year I’m going to get more sleep, but I’m also going to use that extra time in the morning to get things done, like yoga and study. Brother Spjute is amazing and I’m really excited about our class. I was happy to be able to start out my day and my semester with an institute class.

10:40 Shakespeare’s Comedies and Romances. Seems like it’s going to be a really fun class. The instructor is interesting to listen to and the reading is only the best author of all time.

11:40 Linguistics. This class is going to be a little bit more intersting. But potentially boring at the same time. I haven’t heard anything good about it, and I know of several people who have had to repeat the class, some even more than once. The instructor is aware of this, and from the beginning of class told us that we were probably going to hate it. I didn’t think that was a good way to start the semester at all. Why not let us decide for ourselves if we hate the class, rather than make us start thinking negatively about it right from the very beginning? And I truly wonder if he hates the subject himself. There’s nothing worse than taking a course from an instructor who doesn’t enjoy the material.

The class definately did not get off to a good start when the professor began handing out the syllabus. He refered to the syllabus in the plural as syllubuses, and right away he was corrected from a guy sitting in the back of the class.

“Syllabi”

“Excuse me?”

“It’s syllabi. You said syllabuses.”

“I believe either form is correct.”

Then, the student had the guts to say, “Well then you just invented a new word!” The instructor just ignored it and moved on, but the tension in the room never fully left from that moment on.

I was curious so I did a little research myself. But, aha! It seems that the professor was indeed correct. Or partly….. Apparently this is a topic much debated. I ran across several forums and discussions online with many arguments both ways. There is no definitive answer to this question, and so remains one of the fabulous quirky things about the English language that make it so fun. Now I am beginning to believe that my professor said that word on purpose to make a point, knowing someone would make an issue of it. Because of course he would know what he is talking about, being a professor of linguistics, of all things! I’m beginning to thing I might really like this class.

*Wikipedia deals breifly with the question. However, if you are like my professors and do not find Wikipedia to be a credible source, here is a blog I found fascinating with a discussion by some very educated people who sound like they know what they are talking about: http://quodshe.blogspot.com/2006/01/what-fuss-about-syllabus.html

Ok, now I’m reminding myself of my professors, getting all off topic and stuff. I guess I’ll just end by saying Hello, school! I’m happy to be back!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cassie permalink
    August 26, 2008 9:54 am

    YAY! i’m excited for school too! so far my math class is easy. Your classes seem cool 🙂 i’m glad your enjoying it so far!

Leave a Reply

