Skip to content

Singles Ward Manifesto

June 9, 2008

Shannon called me up the other day with a brilliant idea. She proposed that we both become vegetarians again, only this time we aren’t abstaining from meat. We are swearing off boys. Indefinitely. No more crushes, no more pining away, no more revisiting and over-analyzing every conversation and every encounter. We are through!

Of course we know this isn’t going to last forever. Mostly we just need to refocus our minds on what really matters and have a much needed attitude adjustment. We just don’t want guys to be the most important things in our lives anymore. There is one resolution, however, that I do mean to stick to. I am no longer going to date in my ward. As I have learned from experience, dating guys in your ward has bad idea written all over it. Way too much drama has occured in my life lately and it all stems from the same place: intra-ward dating. Awkward situations and hurtful actions abound. It has not been good.

Yes, I do realize that a singles ward’s highest purpose for existence is to marry us off to each other in quick succession. But that is not what I want from a ward. I am finished with the idea that a ward is a conglomeration of exes and potential boyfriends and girls to compete with for them. I want my ward to be a family. As cliche as it sounds, I’d so much rather have a loving, happy support group of friends I can trust and count on and who help and encourage each other to grow in the gospel than an envious, secretive and divisive dating-free-for-all.

If that’s all my ward is going to be, I’m not having any part  of it. I’d rather go to my family ward, thank you very much. I am not desperate enough for a boyfriend to destroy my ward’s unity over it. Nothing could be worth that. So I’m going to be the change I want to see in the ward. I’m going to forgive and love and look beyond all my petty disagreements with people to start making my ward what it really needs to be: a family.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    June 13, 2008 7:45 am

    I commend you for trying to rise above that kind of thing in your ward. That is one of the things that is so frustrating about being in a singles ward! I know that you can do it! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

