Skip to content

Namaste

March 19, 2008

So, today I found something to fill yet another afternoon in this strange and empty week – YOGA!

Now my body feels so good. And I’d have to say I do to. It’s a great feeling knowing your body loves you. It’s been a few months since I’ve done any yoga, thanks to not having a DVD player for a while and such but mostly lack of time and motivation. What other reasons are there for not doing something? Every time I do it though, I always feel so great I tell myself I really should do that more often. But of course usually I don’t.

Yoga is great for non-active people like me. I mean, it’s a form of meditation. How can you get more non-active than that? It’s painless and you’ll rarely break a sweat, and yet it is so healthy and beneficial. And the benefits are mental and emotional as well, so you accomplish multiple things at once. I will admit that yoga might not be the best exercise out there for me to be doing, but I think I’ll stick with it because I actually enjoy myself as I do it, whereas when I’m running or something I’m just miserable. Running is just not fun to me. Not at all. And it’s much better to have an exericse practice you enjoy, because then it’s going to be a lot easier to get yourself to do it.

 Another great thing about yoga is that you can do it on your own, whenever you feel like it, right in your own house. This is why I use a DVD. I have thought a lot about attending a yoga class, but I’m always afraid that would kill the pleasure I get out of it by making it into a requirement or duty. Which might actually be good cause it would get me to do it regularly, but if I’m not enjoying myself there’s just no point. So out of that fear, I just stick with what I know works for me, and do it at home. At random times on random days I’ll just feel like doing some yoga, grab my yoga mat, turn on the DVD, and perform my sun salutations.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    March 20, 2008 9:07 pm

    I love yoga too! but unlike you I also like running but I don’t know why cause I totally agree with the whole pain thing……. Why do I like running? I think I will start doing yoga more often, thanks for inspiring me!

Leave a Reply

