Skip to content

Dickens

March 16, 2008

Sometimes at odd intervals my roommate will hear me laughing from across the room. I am not laughing at a joke or anything someone said, but at a book. Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations, to be precise. Dickens is such a great comedian I can’t help laughing out loud. I am reading Great Expectations for my literature class this semester. I hadn’t realized how long it has been since I have read anything by Dickens. I have seriously been missing out. He is so cleverly funny and his characters are so vivid and original and he has such a great way with words and metaphors. Reading Dickens is just a treat! I’m relishing every minute of it.

Just a few parts that have made me laugh today:

“For, there was something very comfortable in having plenty of stationary.”

And this passage is long, but it made me laugh so hard! I don’t know if it will be funny to you, out of context and everything. But I’ll include it for your reading pleasure and someday you’ll just have to read the whole book!

“As Wemmick and Miss Skiffins sat side by side, and as I sat in a shadowy corner, I observed a slow and gradual elongation of Mr. Wemmick’s mouth, powerfully suggestive of his slowly and gradually stealing his arm round Miss Skiffin’s waist. In course of time I saw his hand appear on the other side of Miss Skiffins; but at that moment Miss Skiffins neatly stopped him with the green glove, unwound his arm again as if it were an article of dress, and with the greatest deliberation laid it on the table before her. Miss Skiffins’s composure while she did this was one of the most remarkable sights I have ever seen . . .

By-and-by, I noticed Wemmick’s arm beginning to disappear again, and gradually fading out of view. Shortly afterwards, his mouth began to widen again. After an interval of suspense on my part that was quite enthralling and almost painful, I saw his hand appear on the other side of Miss Skiffins. Instantly, Miss Skiffins stopped it with the neatness of a placid boxer, took off that girdle . . . as before, and laid it on the table. . . I am justified in stating that during the whole time of the Aged’s reading, Wemmick’s arm was straying from the path of virtue and being recalled to it by Miss Skiffins.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 3:36 pm

    I love Great Expectations! Wemmick is a very eccentric character, but my favorite person was Mr. Jaggers. He reminds me of my dad, for some reason…I think that was why I was the only person in my English class that wasn’t intimidated by him.

Leave a Reply

