Skip to content

Vegetable Rambling

March 6, 2008

Today I had squash for dinner. Does anyone else love squash the way I do? Seriously, I want to know your feelings on squash. Do you like it? Hate it? Is there anyone who has never tasted it? I believe it it is one of the most underappreciated vegetables. Squash is so easy to cook, very healthy for you, and absolutely delicious. I buy acorn squash because its just the right size for just me. You just cut it in half and bake it in the oven with a little water. It takes about 45 minutes, but you can also cook it in the microwave for just 7 or 8 min. Then I eat one half and save the other for later. It is a perfect meal with some bread or rice. I just season it with butter and salt and pepper, but if you like it a little sweeter you can also use brown sugar. Mmmmm. . . . so good!

Another thing I absolutely love is swiss chard. sigh. Has anyone else ever had swiss chard? I haven’t had any in probably ten years, but my mom used to cook it for us when I was younger. I don’t think you can find it very easily at the store. We always grew it. Something reminded me of swiss chard a few months ago and I had the most intense craving for some. It’s been months and my craving still has not been satisfied. Now I’m just afraid I’ll have some one day and just be disappointed because it’s not as good as I remember. That would be so depressing. But I remember it to be absolutely divine. It’s a really unique taste, almost kind of bitter, but oh so good.

I’d just like to say that I am so grateful for my mother for exposing me to these different vegetables as a child so I could develop a taste for them and enjoy them for the rest of my life. I’m pretty sure I would have never the greateness of squash and swiss chard if it weren’t for my mom. My mom is the best!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa The Beautiful permalink
    March 9, 2008 4:37 pm

    I don’t like squash. I know my mom has tried to encourage me to like all kinds of vegatables but squash is one vegatable that I can’t. It does sound good when you describe it though!

  2. Shannon permalink
    March 16, 2008 7:47 pm

    hey big sister! I love your blog and I love squash too!!!!! but I don’t remember having swiss chard as a kid. I agree mom is the best!

Leave a Reply

