Skip to content

National Novel Writing Month

October 28, 2012

I’m going to do it!

Image

I first heard about National Novel Writing Month three years ago when I was in my last semester at BSU and a fellow classmate was doing it in my Creative Nonfiction class. Immediately I knew I was going to do it someday because it was just the kick in the pants I need to actually write something! Last year I considered it and even went so far as signing up on the website, but I never actually wrote a word. This year I am serious!

NaNoWriMo is an event that happens every year in November. The challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel in just 30 days. The website helps you keep track of your progress and you can also meet up in person with other people in your area who are participating! I am so excited about this now for so many reasons. As soon as I committed myself to it, the ideas for my novels just started coming to me. I am the kind of person that really needs goals and challenges so ever since I finished school it has been hard to find something to replace the constant goals of schoolwork and grades. But the one thing I’m really excited about is that because we are still so new to this area and really don’t know anyone, this is going to be such a great way to meet people! Tonight is the first meet up so I can’t wait to see how it goes.

Your job, as my family, friends, and support group, is to check in with me through the month to make sure I don’t give up. I have to write over 1,600 words a day to make the goal and that is going to be HARD and I’m going to get stuck. I’m counting on all of you to help me through it! Here we go on this awesome adventure. I really hope I am able to write something amazing from this.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2012 8:26 pm

    I learned about this about the same time. It’s a great goal. The 1,600 words a day is a challenge, but just sit down and write. Let it flow. Some days will be 500, some days will be 2000. Steven King, when he first started writing, worked in a laundry 8 hours a day then came home and wrote 3,000 words every night. You can do it! We believe in you!

  2. Lonita permalink
    October 29, 2012 4:38 am

    Good luck! Having a goal to meet definitely helps – you can do it!

  3. October 31, 2012 10:30 am

    How’s the writing going??? I bet you’re novel will be aweosme!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

