Skip to content

Summer?

August 25, 2012

Where did the summer go? That’s what I’d like to know. I haven’t updated this blog since Michael’s birthday in April and the past four months have gone by in quite a whirl! Here’s the highlighs:

May 4: Graduation! I graduated with my Masters in Library Science. My mom was able to come to my graduation and Michael’s mom came too! It was a weekend of mothers and we had a wonderful time.

May 16: Interview at the Elkhart Public Library! I actually got the phone call inviting me to the interview while I was in the yarn store with my mom graduation weekend. I will never forget that thrilling moment. The interview went pretty well and it was over 2 hours long! I should have realized that was  a good sign.

May 25: The library called and offered me the job! They wanted me to start right away, in just 2 weeks. I cried, we prayed, we told our families, and we accepted the job. Just three weeks after graduation and I had a job!

June 8: We moved from Bloomington to Mishawaka, IN. What an exhausting day! We were in a completely new place and we didn’t know a soul. Thank goodness we found a donut shop first thing the next morning!

June 11: My first day at my new job! Head of Young People’s Services. It’s a lot of responsibility but also a lot of fun. Everyone at the library is so friendly and awesome. Being a librarian is the best!

Everything after June 11 has just completely flown by. I can’t believe August is almost over. Without the start of fall classes, it doesn’t feel like summer ever really happened. The first time in 18 years August has not meant starting school again! It’s a little weird. But I love it. We are having so much fun in our new home and my new job is really everything I hoped being a librarian would be! We have been very lucky and very blessed. All we need now is for Michael to find a really great job too! We are sure it will be happening soon. And thus starts the great adventure of the rest of our lives!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. donna permalink
    August 26, 2012 12:13 am

    So glad you love your new job! It is weird to not start school in the fall after you’ve been going for so long. But this new phase of your life will be wonderful.

  2. Lonita permalink
    August 26, 2012 4:49 am

    Good to hear things are going well and that you love your job – and we’re glad you guys are still in the Midwest!

  3. August 26, 2012 11:19 am

    It is so exciting to see you in your new community and enjoying it. Moving and new jobs can be so stressful, but they also create opportunities for us to grow. We look forward to visiting you next year – in Indiana!

  4. Joann McLean permalink
    August 26, 2012 4:04 pm

    Glad I was able to come for your graduation. Wonderful things are happening. Thank goodness the move is over, that can be the hardest part.

  5. August 27, 2012 7:56 am

    What a busy few months!! That is great that you love your job!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

